My Promise

I am so lucky.

I mean, I always knew I was on a higher playing field than many others, but I guess I never realized exactly how far away those playing fields were.

I am independent. I am not struggling for basic necessities. I have a car. I can drive. I’m allowed to drive. I can write and read and watch TV cause I have one. I can speak what I want, with reason. I am educated. I am at a wonderful college that challenges me. I am challenged. I am surrounded by amazing people everyday. I have spectacular friends and a very supportive family. I am at the perfect age to do what I want and suffer minimal consequences. I am able to walk and move and think. I am allowed to do such things. I am loved. I am healthy. I have a bed and a house and toothpaste to brush my teeth. I have water at the flick of a handle. I have extremely hot or cold water within seconds. I have clean water. I have food, and not just basic foods, but options. I have cuisine from around the world. I have the freedom to choose.

I am so so so so so lucky.

And others aren’t.

Just because someone is born in the wrong place or born in the wrong time or born with the height, gender, personality, race, or ethnicity should not determine how luck they are. It shouldn’t hinder any of their talents or abilities or any of their goals and aspirations. It shouldn’t, but it does.

Did you know that 70% of people born poor will stay poor? SOURCE

That means that almost no matter what, everyone is stuck like a mouse on those stick pads. (On a side note, I hate those things. They just make the mouse’s last moments that much worse. If you’re going to kill then, respect their life by letting them die without knowing they were tricked. Let them die with their teeth sinking into the cheese.)

They can’t get out for all the pressure keeping them stuck to their current socioeconomic status. And that seems completely unfair for me. Our opportunities should not be determined by the uncontrolled. The gap between our freedoms and chances should not be Add to dictionary for us. We must clamp down on the gap between and force it together as hard as we can. And we starts with one person.

I promise to do everything in my power to close that gap.

This is part of the “I am an observer” posts. To see more like this click here. To see all posts click here.

References:

CNN Money

Leave a Reply

