The Peace of Prayer

In the past 24 hours, I left my very expensive jacket my mom got for me for Christmas a few days ago at a hotel 6 hours away and something I bought 4 weeks ago was just charged to my already depleting funds, and charged twice, which meant I went majorly into the negatives. Yes, majorly.

Yet, I am at peace. In fact, I’m joyful.

If this situation had happened just a week ago, I might be freaking out. No, correct that. I would definitely be freaking out. My heart would be racing. I would be wondering why my parents were not picking up the phone after the first dial tone. I would be pacing and possibly crying. Needless to say, it would not be a good time.

So, why in just a week am I no longer feeling any of those nuisances?

Simple answer: I rediscovered the power of praying.

Praying is a powerful thing. It is what connects us with God on a personal level. It is the most direct way, in my opinion, to communicate with Him. It’s very rejuvenating and rewarding,. It was how I felt the peace that surpassed all understanding even though my life was a little crazy at the time.

And when you feel God in your presence, or at least the effects of Him on you, its like someone is sending a care package to your heart.

Trust me, it is so worth it to pray. Even if you feel like you’re talking to no one at first.

fullsizerender

This post is part of my “I am Christian” blog posts. To see more like it, click here. To see all posts, click here. If you are interested in contacting me and/or writing a post or too, contact me here!
One thought on “The Peace of Prayer

Leave a Reply

