Who Put More Cookies in the Cookie Jar?

One of the blessings, and curses, of being a college student is the food that your family ships you.

How can food be a curse you say?

Well, imagine that you are a college student on your own for the first time in your life. So, when you go to the store, of course you buy 4 bags of chips, 3 coffees, 2 recees cups, and a partridge in a pear tree (yes, this can be sung to the tune of “12 Days of Christmas”). And then, when you get back to your dorm, you discover that your family has sent you a care package to say that they love and miss you. This care package involves as many candies and popcorn packages that can fit in a 4′ by 4′ by 4′ box (about 30-40 pieces). Then, your grandma, who is an excellent cook, decides to send you 2 dozen peanut butter cookies to share among your friends.

Now take all that and multiply it by each month you’ve been in college.

That’s a lot of food- correction- that’s a lot of unhealthy food. Sweets, candies, and chips galore.

The freshman 15 seems easier to get now doesn’t it?

It’s not that I don’t like all the food, I really do, it’s just a ton. Excess isn’t exactly what I was going for when I had that huge shopping trip before knowing how much free food I would get from relatives.

In fact, for me, it got so bad that the week of exams, I took 4 paper bowls and filled them with my dozens upon dozens of assorted cookies (and that wasn’t even enough to make a dent in my stash) and put them out in my common room to get devoured by my hall. But, it didn’t work as well as I thought it would. I had only gotten rid of 2 bowls of cookies by the end of the week.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that as amazing as sweets are, if you are ever sending any food to a college student, some healthy food would be nice. Like a good ole’ clementine or dried fruit.

Oh, how I miss the fruit bowl at my house.

This post is part of my “I am a college student” blog posts. To see more like it, click here. To see all posts, click here.
Leave a Reply

