The Importance of Quiet Time

Everyone has at least one New Years Resolution, or at least some sort of goal in mind of what they want to do in 2017, even if they don’t say it out loud. Well, this year, I made four resolutions, only one of which I have successfully kept up with every day.

Quiet Time.

What is quiet time, Camden? Good question, I’m glad you asked.

Quiet time, in my opinion, is a time set apart for you. No, that does not mean a massage or a trip to the hair salon, although that time is important, too. Quiet time is when you devote yourself to just, well, being for a few minutes, an hour, or somewhere in between. It can be spiritual or meditative- all up to you.

It is a time without technology and people. If any noise, there is soft music playing in the background. It is a time to journal or draw or pray or just sit. A time to prepare yourself for the day or rejuvenate after a busy day.

And it is for everyone. Whether you are introverted, extroverted, or somewhere in between, quiet time should be an important daily, or if not that, then weekly, aspect of your life.

Now, I am not forcing this upon you. I am not saying that if you don’t have quiet time, your life will be over forever. In no way am I saying that quiet time will solve all the problems in the world. But, since this year started 33 days ago, I have been doing quiet time everyday and I have seen a major positive improvement in my life. I have been able to give more to the people around me and put each day in perspective. No matter if I spend 5 or 30 minutes reading the bible, praying, and doing my devotional, I have been taking at least a little bit of time to prepare myself for the day and that has changed this 2017 year for the better.

Quiet time won’t solve everything, but it will sure make you a more relaxed and determined individual. It will grow you into someone who wants to give back, someone who treats each day as a gift, someone who isn’t afraid of being alone.

And, hey, there is no harm in trying, the only thing you’re giving up is a few minutes or so a day so why not?

This is part of my “I am an extroverted introvert,” which you can find here, and “I am Christian,” which you can find here. To see all blog posts, click here.
Leave a Reply

